Previous post:

Antarctic Research Facility Moving

July 20, 2016

The Antarctic Marine Geology Research Facility is undergoing changes. The National Science Foundation has a solicitation out for the management of the facility. FSU has decided to not compete for this solicitation and thus the facility will move to another institution. The transition is expected to occur in late 2017. The collection will remain open and available for research as much as possible. If you have plans to visit the Antarctic Core Facility in the next year, please let us know as soon as possible by contacting either Steve Petrushak (sbp6188@fsu.edu) or Vincent Salters (salters@magnet.fsu.edu).

Activities at the facility are now focused on a smooth transition and curation of the cores to minimize degradation of the cores during transport to a different institution. In addition, to minimize the cost of the move the cores are evaluated to determine whether they should move or de-assessed. Criteria for de-assession were established by an advisory committee consisting of:

– Dr. Stefanie A. Brachfeld (Chair): Montclair State University, N.J.; brachfelds@mail.montclair.edu,
– Dr. Christopher Fielding, University of Nebraska—Lincoln; cfielding2@unl.edu,
– Dr. Eugene Domack, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL; edomack@usf.edu,
– Dr. Denise K. Kulhanek, Texas A&M, College Station, TX; kulhanek@iodp.tamu.edu,
– Dr. Brad E. Rosenheim, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL; brosenheim@usf.edu.

The evaluation of the cores is expected to be completed by the end of August, after which a list will be available of those cores that will be de-assessed.